Time to go ‘big bore’‽

H

HimmyAde

Hi folks new on here today. Been using the HTb since March last year on a BS4 and after doing all the other basic mods (air filter/booster plug/exhaust) I was planning on having a go with the 477 - just when things went t*ts up with the previous piston issues. I’d sort of parked the idea as the Hitchcocks 462 was way too expensive, but the idea was rekindled by someone on another forum recently so decided to have a look again and saw you had a kit available again. So……a couple of questions:

1/ is the full kit effectively a ’plug & play’ - I’m a reasonably competent mechanic so would have no problem with that side of it.

2/ would I need a PT/Red ECU (for which I know there are stock maps provided) or is a Fuel X Pro adequate to give sufficient extra fuel? I appreciate that I might not realise the full potential that way. The problem is I’m not particularly IT literate and no longer even own a laptop (only using an iPad these days).

I do have a mate who is very good with IT/electronics and has written his own maps for his CCM GP450 so its not a complete deal breaker if the aftermarket ECU is essential.

grateful for any guidance, cheers, Ade

With Displacement comes as you guess the need to spend more Money :ROFLMAO:
ECU is not up to it! you have 2 Piggy back options that require a Spider Web of wires or the Red Box.
You can although persevere with a Fuelx device but it restricts your options and your power.
Not having a laptop could be a problem.

With Displacement comes as you guess the need to spend more Money :ROFLMAO:
ECU is not up to it! you have 2 Piggy back options that require a Spider Web of wires or the Red Box.
You can although persevere with a Fuelx device but it restricts your options and your power.
Not having a laptop could be a problem.